Please support Dharma Seed with a 2022 year-end gift.

Your donations allow us to offer these teachings online to all.

The greatest gift is the
gift of the teachings
Buddha's Core Teachings: Finding True Happiness Through the Four Noble Truths
2020-01-07 Buddha's Core Teachings: Finding True Happiness Through the Four Noble Truths 2:46:38
with Carla Brennan, Lisa Dale Miller, Shaila Catherine, Toni Bernhard
No one wants to suffer, and yet stress is everywhere in our lives. After the Buddha awakened under the Bodhi Tree, the first thing he talked about was how to find true happiness. He described four wise ways you can work with your mind in the midst of ordinary and meditative experiences, popularly known as the Four Noble Truths. You can (1) comprehend your suffering; (2) abandon its causes; (3) realize that it is possible to end suffering; and (4) follow the path that leads to its end. Practicing this path, you will become free—not by avoiding what is unwanted, but by developing a wise relationship to your mind and all the myriad conditions by which it manufactures stress.
2020-01-07 Dukkha - Understanding How Things Are 36:53
Lisa Dale Miller
The Buddha explained in the First Noble Truth how the inherent unsatisfactoriness of human existence gives rise to all forms of human suffering. True understanding of this teaching liberates habitual tendencies to harm oneself, others and our world.
Insight Meditation South Bay - Silicon Valley
2020-01-21 Realizing Freedom 46:17
Toni Bernhard
In the Third Noble Truth the Buddha explained it is possible to end suffering and our inclination for making it worse.
Insight Meditation South Bay - Silicon Valley
2020-01-28 Practicing the Path 36:54
Carla Brennan
Do the actions we perform lead us to liberation or continued suffering?
Insight Meditation South Bay - Silicon Valley Tuesday Talks
2020-02-04 Suffering and Its End 46:32
Shaila Catherine
In this talk, Shaila Catherine addresses the great teaching of the Buddha known as the four noble truths: 1) suffering, 2) the cause of suffering is craving, 3) the end of suffering, and 4) the path leading to the end of suffering. Shaila Catherine explores each of the four truths through inspiring sutta references and daily life examples that show how we can live our daily lives from the perspective of liberating wisdom. Rather than engage in endless philosophical speculations or become attached to views and opinions, the Buddha taught a practical path based on the recognition of the fundamental unsatisfactory characteristic of experience. When we recognize dukkha (suffering), we can realize the end of dukkha (suffering).
Insight Meditation South Bay - Silicon Valley

Creative Commons License